The ‘monastery of “Profiti Elia” (Greek Προφήτη Ηλία = Prophet Elias) founded in 1625 by the monks Neofilos and Gregorios, who were monks in “New Monastery” of Chios.
it is of the most popular beaches of the island, justifiably since is a picturesque sandy beach with calm and crystal clear sea. Furthermore the shallow waters and the sand on the beach, categorize it as favorite beach for childrens since the playing in the sand and in the sea it’s fun.
Only one column is still standing today, preserved up to half of its original height, while the foundations are preserved up to the base of the walls and the stylobate. Began construction of the temple in 540 BC by “Rhoikos” sons, Theodore and Teleklis. The temple was never completed because of Polycrates death in 522 BC.