he monastery of “Megali Panagia” (Greek Μεγάλη Παναγιά = Great Virgin Mary) or “pende ospition” (=five houses) founded in 1586 by the monks Nilus and Dionysos, who had become a monks in mount “Latros” near ancient Miletus in middle east.
located north of the village in front of cafés, bar and restaurants row, that cover almost the entire length. Beautiful beach with many facilities, but with enough wave and air that adore the friends of windsurfing frequenting here. At the next beach there and windsurfing school.
Exhibits, which come from the monasteries and churches of Samos, submit and transport the visitors to another time and give them the image of timeless church life and the local ecclesiastical art, uniting together the farthest historical past with the present and presage the future.
The Exhibitions includes five departments, Paleontological, Zoological, Rocks and Minerals, marine life, Botanological, which are further supported by similar laboratories.