SAMOS ISLAND EXPLORER | since 1998 online
The collection of Samos Library department contains 34,130 volumes or 22,436 titles (7,926 titles in the Greek language, 13,581 titles in the English, 275 titles in the German language, 535 titles in the French language) and 352 journal titles of…
Monastery of Agios Ioannis Theologos (in Greek Άγιος Ιωάννης ο Θεολόγος = Saint John the Theologian) was founded in 1823 by unknown monks.
located next to the settlement of Agios Nikolaos (or “Limanaki” as it is known locally). Is a nice beach which mainly visited by locals from the village Kontakeika and some customers of nearby hotels.
mainly it serves the customers of two hotels behind the beach, but and locals too. Often has large waves, which they come on the beach mildly due to the breakwater and of shallow waters.
Samos unit of Aegean University was established in 1987. It’s headquartered in Karlovasi of Samos island
Leka village It’s built in a green landscape with outstanding northeast views to Aegean sea till Asia Minor coasts and Karlovasi town lying ahead.
The church of the monastery is a vaulted basilica with a dome, while inside there are magnificent frescoes of the 17th century,
They say that no two sunsets are ever the same. Whether it’s the colors, the clouds, or the scenery each one has something unique about it. That’s why one time it’s not enough to visit Drakei, to enjoy of the most beautiful sunset from 300 m high.
It’s mostly full of finds from the Heraion of Samos site (more about the Heraion in a following post) and contains collections with Archaic Sculpture, Pottery, Bronzes, Ivory objects, Wooden items, Clay figurines, Small objects.
The green slopes of Ampelos mountain (or Karvounis) that reach the sea, the view to the sea till Asia Minor, create a scene that is a key feature of the village.